• Napier Waller, The Leckie window, (detail) c.1935, stained glass, lead, 1000 x 130 cm, The University of Melbourne Art Collection. Gift of John E. Leckie 1935. © Trustees of the Waller Estate.

  • Founding Donors

  • The Major Founding Donor

    The Ian Potter Foundation


    Major Founding Benefactors

    Dr Joseph Brown AO OBE

    The Estates of the Late Sir Russell and Lady Grimwade


    Founding Donors 1997 to 1998

    Professor Marion Adams

    The Estate of the Late George Adams/Tattersall's

    Arthur Anderson

    The Andrews Foundation

    Australian Foundation for Culture and the Humanities

    CitiPower Pty.

    Corporate Services, The University of Melbourne

    Emery Vincent Design

    The Russell and Mab Grimwade Miegunyah Fund

    Professor Emeritus Carl de Grunchy and Miss Denise de Grunchy

    The H and L Hecht Trust

    The Herald and Weekly Times Limited    

    The Katsalidis Family

    Dr Henry Krongold AM CBE and Mrs Dinah Krongold

    Dame Elizabeth Murdoch AC DBE

    The Myer Foundation

    National Australia Bank Limited

    Optus Communications Pty Ltd

    Orica Limited

    The Pratt Foundation

    Rio Tinto Limited

    The John T. Reed Charitable Trusts

    The Helen M Schutt Trust

    Sotheby's Australia

    Mr Victor Smorgon, AO and Mrs Loti Smorgon AO

    The Vizard Foundation

    Potter Warburg Securities Pty Ltd

    The Hugh DT Williamson Foundation


    Founding Supporters 1997 to 1998

    Professor Jaynie Anderson

    Australian Galleries Pty Ltd

    Mr Neil Carbine and Bernadette Dalbosco

    Professor Emertius David Caro AO OBE and Mrs Fiona Caro

    Mr Robert and Mrs Caroline Clemente

    Mr Jim Cousins

    Mr L Gordon Darling AO CMG

    Mrs Marilyn Darling

    Professor Emeritus Derek A Denton and Dame Margaret Scott DBE

    Mrs Lauraine Diggins and Mr Michael Blanche

    Lord and Lady Ebury

    Mr Graeme and Mrs Isabel Edgoose

    Ms Patricia Feilman AM

    Mrs Elly and Mr Warton Fink

    Mr Paton Forster

    Ms Patricia Fullerton

    Mr Charles Goode AC and Mrs Cornelia Goode

    The Honourable Sir Rupert Hamer AC KCMG and Lady Hamer

    Mr Ron Harrison

    Dr June Howqua

    Assoc Prof Alison Inglis

    Peter Jaffe` RDP and Patricia Jaffe`

    The Honourable Barry Jones AO MP

    Dr Frank and Mrs Jill Jones

    Mrs Barbara Kane and Mr Kevin Kane

    Mrs Helen Kennan

    Mr Grahame and Mrs Inge King AM

    Mr David and Mrs Alison Lansley

    Lady Law-Smith

    Mr Alexander G Lynch

    Mrs Marjory Lynch OAM

    Professor Emeritus Margaret Manion AO

    Mrs Betty Marginson AM

    Dr Ray Marginson AM

    Mr John RC Marlyn

    Dr Davis McCaughey AC and Dr Jean McCaughey AO

    Dr Hillary McPhee

    Mr Justin Miller

    Mr Peter Monkivitch

    Mrs Felicity St. John Moore

    Professor Emeritus Charles Moorehouse AM

    Mr Nigel and Mrs Diana Morgan

    Mr Donald and Mrs Jane Morely

    Dr Geoffrey and Mrs Hilary Mottershead

    Ms Josephine Anne Moulton

    Professor Emeritus Sir Gustuv Nossal AC CBE

    Lady Nossal

    Reverend Professor Emeritus Eric Osborn and Mrs Lorna Osborn

    Professor Emeritus David Penington AC and Dr Sonay Hussein

    Professor Emeritus John Poynter AO

    Mr Ian Renard

    Mrs Dodi Rose

    Professor P John Rose

    Mrs Margaret S Ross

    Mr Fergus D Ryan

    Mr Graham and Mrs Judith Ryles

    Professor Frank Sear

    Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith

    Mr Sam Smorgon AO and Mrs Minnie Smorgon

    Mr Matthew J Walsh

    Mrs Lyn Williams

    The Honourable Sir Edward Woodward and Lady Woodward

    Professor Jenny Zimmer


    Founding Supporters 1998 to 2000

    Mr Richard Longmore and Mrs Nola Longmore

    Marguerita Wu

    Carolyn Kay and Simon Swaney

    Australian Decorative Arts Society Melbourne

    Dr John Blair-West and Mrs Genevieve Blair-West

    Beth and Tom Bruce

Latest News

Opening hours
Tuesday to Friday 10am to 5pm
Saturday and Sunday 12 noon to 5pm
Monday closed



The Ian Potter Museum of Art
The University of Melbourne

  • Swanston Street
  • University of Melbourne
  • Parkville VIC 3010